Need help with clean install of Big Sur on Macbook Air mid 2013

JohnDoe1980

Reaction score
Hello. I am new to Macs and I am trying to install Big Sur onto a Macbook Air mid 2013.
I have checked compatibility and it says it's fine.
I put in a new 256GB SSD.
I tried formatting to APFS.
I formatted in HFS and was able to get the drive to show and it started the install process from my USB triage drive, and then rebooted and I get nothing.
I tried making a new Big Sur bootable USB drive with Transmac tool on my windows PC, formatted for mac and added the DMG file and put it in the mac and hold option key to start and the only thing that comes up is internet recovery. When I click that I get an option to reinstall macos but it's maveric. I could really use some help here. Thanks.

Yes, that would work.

You know how a professional cookbook will say things like "make five litres of Hollandaise sauce in the usual way" while a home cookbook will walk you through every step?

Welcome to Technibble.
Thanks, but I'm still unclear on the process. I'm not seeing the disk show up in Disk Utility.

@JohnDoe1980 you just need to boot the MacBook pressing “cmd + opt + r” and the internet recovery will start to the latest compatible version of macOS for that machine, then select disk utility format the SSD in APFS, close disk utility and select the installer and follow the steps :)
Thanks for the advice. The problem is, the disk isn't showing in Disk Utility. It's just showing my triage drive.

@JohnDoe1980 you just need to boot the MacBook pressing “cmd + opt + r” and the internet recovery will start to the latest compatible version of macOS for that machine, then select disk utility format the SSD in APFS, close disk utility and select the installer and follow the steps :)