SysPrep Error - The Subsystem needed to support the image type is not present

allanc

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at 'SysPrep'.
I am getting an error 'The Subsystem needed to support the image type is not present' when I try the imagex command.
I have been following the instructions very carefully (or, at least I thought that I did) in the PDF 'Deploy a Windows 7 Build on Multiple PCs'.

I have installed the WAIK 3.0 on a Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1 64-bit machine.
There is no recovery partition on this computer.
I assume that it is the correct WAIK because the documentation specifically mentioned Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2.

I created the WinPE DVD using the instructions for the 64-bit version of Windows (again according to the PDF mentioned above).

Let me mention that the steps above were performed on a Dell Studio XPS notebook with Intel Centrino 2.

At this point I switch over to a HP Pavilion with an AMD 64 CPU.
This is going to be the 'reference computer' on which I run SysPrep.
In any case, it is also Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1 with updated MS Security Updates and some basic software.

Logged-in as Administrator, I stop and disable the Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service.

I use Windows Explore to navigate to c:\windows\System32\SysPrep and double click on SysPre.exe.
I select 'Enter System Out-Of-Box Experience (OOBE), enable 'Generalize' and 'Shutdown'.
There are no error messages.
Next, I boot off the WinPe DVD and (again according to the instructions in the PDF mentioned above) type imagex /capture c: j:\image.wim "Windows 7" /compress fast /verify.
The error message 'The Subsystem needed to support the image type is not present' occurs immediately.

I have researched this message and it seems to indicate that there is a mismatch between the operating system that was used to generate the WinPe and the reference computer.
However, they are both Windows 7 Pro SP1.
All assistance is appreciated.