Strange!! HP Pavillion G6 2000, first BIOS crash, then motherboard dead ??

serious_electron

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

To start with, I am basically a noob when it comes to component level repairs. I identify myself at a stage where I am able to recognize some SMD components by shape, size and color. I know the very basics of testing the voltage by hooking the multi-meter probes and that's it.

Keeping that in mind, I will try to explain my situation in best possible way --

I own a 5 year old HP Pavillion G6 2288CA, a laptop known for its overheating.
I have used the machine lots in the past and sometimes left it on for days continuously.

After 2-3 yrs, I started getting message whenever I boot, the the Motherboard fan has malfunctioned and the computer will shut down to prevent damage. I have regularly serviced my laptop and cleaned my fan and managed to get the fan going. However, whenever I go to places/countries that are warm/hot, and keep laptop with its bottom touching the bed, or my lap.. then the laptop shuts down. And upon booting up, it gives the error that the system shut down due to overheating and to prevent the damage etc.

Now recently, from last couple of years, all my laptops have been compromised (hacked) and have had many virus attacks. The hackers even fiddled with the startup settings.

But things took much serious turn when after shutting down the laptop when I restarted, I was shocked to see RESTORING BIOS screen. And most of the times, the restoration failed. And then when the laptop once again starts, the screen is dead blank (no signs of life) but only the caps lock LED blinks.

After doing some research on restoring BIOS etc, I managed to get inside the system by removing hard disk, and pressing windows+B key on startup to enter BIOS restoration. However it was a long struggle.