WhoCrashed Dump analysis

stick1977

Reaction score
I've got a client who's getting about 4 blue screens per week. The computer is a used Lenovo ThinkPad T500 laptop with a new OS build as of a month ago. It's running 64 bit Windows with 4 GB RAM.

I'm not really sure what to tell him at this point. When I look at this report it shows 4 different files that have caused the various crashes but also says that "possibly this problem is caused by another driver that cannot be identified at this time". The end of the report suggests that I should enable complete memory dump files so I found a registry modification that allows for this. Soon I'll have a 4+ GB complete dump file to look at but I've never done analysis like this before...

Is this WhoCrashed program any good or is there something else I should use? He's also experiencing wireless issues. Honestly I'd prefer to just build him out a new operating system but he wants to troubleshoot.

Has anyone ever successfully resolved an issue as complex as this? Seems like Windows is just plain hosed. ThinkVantage System Update program is supposed to scan the laptop and find suitable updates but it's obviously not working correctly or I wouldn't be in this mess.

Welcome to WhoCrashed (HOME EDITION) v 3.06

This program checks for drivers which have been crashing your computer. If your computer has displayed a blue screen of death, suddenly rebooted or shut down then this program will help you find the root cause and possibly a solution.

Whenever a computer suddenly reboots without displaying any notice or blue screen of death, the first thing that is often thought about is a hardware failure. In reality, on Windows most crashes are caused by malfunctioning device drivers and kernel modules. In case of a kernel error, many computers do not show a blue screen unless they are configured for this. Instead these systems suddenly reboot without any notice.