My Business Plan

Charles Gripp

Reaction score
Hello, I am considering refurbishing laptops for a living. I am 28 and have experience refurbishing handheld barcode scanners. I got the idea while I installing a lightweight Linux distro and realized I should buy old laptops in bulk, slap a new OS on it and sell it.

Low spec laptops (duo core, 1-4gb ram) command prices well north of $60 on ebay even if they have Linux installed. Linux doesn't seem to effect price. From what I can tell people, don't want an old computer with an old Windows OS. And old computers cant handle newer windows. Also Linux will cut overhead since its free.

I am looking to make a $50 profit on each unit. I think I can get 500 laptops for $30 or less on AliBaba. I am hoping that 80% will have nothing wrong and just need OS switched. The other %20 I will triage depending on whats going on. I will them market them on Ebay as refurbished units for $100 or more. That leaves $20 margin for overhead costs such as shipping, buying chargers, ebay fees etc..
Alibaba merchants generally sell many units of the same model. This helps with time efficiency because once a find the best distro for that specific model, I can be confident putting it on all of them. Also, I will have plenty of spare parts.

For sales marketing, I will explain the reasons for buying in item description with a generic jpeg with my business logo and motto. the selling points are these.
1. Linux rocks and isnt just for techies! it has a learning curb JUST LIKE any other OS.
2. Buyers are getting an incredibly affordable computer that RUNS WELL.
3. Lightweight Linux distros are a FEEL GOOD purchase because they reduce E-Waste.

Perks of this business model:
1: I can work at my own pace.
2: Can work at home.
3. Labor of love

If i can restore and sell a computer every hour, my income would max out at $100k a year not including tax and workspace rent.

Do you guys think it could work?