Compatibility of 32 Bit programs on 64Bit Vista? +Ethics

Felix

Reaction score
I'm going to be honest and tell the whole story here.
This is one of the first places I've ever noticed that other techs can tell whole storys and get actual advice and not called names or flamed.

Ok here goes.....

In addition to my other job in I.T. I also work as an in store tech at an
electronics store. I answered the phone and spoke with a REALLY angry client. She was complaining about how she bought an HP Laptop and was unhappy with it, she said that it had 64 Bit windows on it and after she bought it she found out that the company she works for (shes a Realtor, still making good money:eek:) only supports 32 Bit Vista, and they'll be moving to Windows 7 as soon as it comes out.

So prior to calling me she had spoke to my supervisor and he got her to buy a 32 Bit copy of Vista and she had him install it for her $$. But she was still having issues, apparently her disc drive wasn't being seen in Windows, so she brought it in again and another tech had fixed it but now she was calling me upset that Itunes kept giving her an error about the disc drive.

The first thing I wondered was why didnt she exchange the computer for one that had 32 BIt Vista on it to begin with?

I told her to bring it in and I would gladly help her out. She came in, angry of course. And I had a look and one of my co-workers helped me out. He told me that 32 Bit programs will all run fine on 64 Bit because of some compatibility layer. She was still complaining about how she has a Mac desktop and the only reason she uses a PC is because her company makes her. She was ranting about just giving up on PC's and getting a Macbook and just having Windows installed on that. I told her I understand but that would cost her even more money though.

Is it true that all 32 Bit programs will run fine in 64 Bit Vista?

Does it seem unethical to any of you that my supervisor had her