unsecure Wi-Fi using our restaurant name (our restaurant does not wifi)

jvcomputerservice

Reaction score
unsecure Wi-Fi using our restaurant name (Wi-Fi Scams????)

I work in a restaurant and i repair pcs in my spare time. I just finished a Associate degree in Computer Networking and Security Management. But I do know that I still need a lot of things to learn.

Hi guys, i been reading technibble for the last two months. im planning to start my advertising in the next couple of months. I repair computers in my spare time, but i don't get paid for most of them. I also help my supervisor with the computer she is in charge of. First of all let me tell you that I work in a restaurant as a server. She (my supervisor) is in charge of 12 restaurants. Each restaurant has A windows 2000 server running micros on it, they all have 4 to 7 clients. I been involve in some repairs concerning the server and the thermal printer connected to the clients, you know basic staff. I also installed a DVR system for one restaurant, and let me tell you something it is really easy.
Fortunately, the problem or question i have is not related with any of the computers .
Our restaurant does not offer free wifi. We don't even have a wireless router. Last week i notice in my friends iphone that in the wifi setting theres a unsecured network SSID = "Restaurant blow". We have many costumers connecting their laptop to the internet while they wait for their food.
This is really strange for me, nobody would set up their router without any restrictions unless you want everyone to connect to it. I'm just worry that somebody set their router intentionally to get peoples data. It's easy to set up a server box and install router's features to it. They can install software allowing them to capture data and do illegal things with it.
My question is does anybody know where in can report these, or any advice on what I should do.