Two Win8 failed upgrade to Win10 - frustrated!

Diggs

Reaction score
I'm a bit frustrated after two Win8 machines from a local municipality fail to upgrade in place to Win10. Every previous Win8>Win10 upgrade has gone smoothly with no hitches. Now I have two machines in a row to fail. No doubt they are related. I manually removed AVG from each of them before the upgrade attempt and the AVG secure browser that went with it. The updates go great until the very end of the install and then kick back to Win8 with a Win10 fail to install message. I ran the MS setupdiag (shown below). I have run a full DISM /restorehealth on both machines and that didn't help. I really don't want to N&P the machine. Lots of stuff that will be hard to put back. I'm just beginning my due deligence (going down the rabbit hole?) with Google on the error messages but thought someone here might glance and easily recognize the problem. Thoughts on the log?

Matching Profile found: FindAbruptDownlevelFailure - 55882B1A-DA3E-408A-9076-23B22A0472BD
SetupDiag version: 1.6.2107.27002
System Information:
Machine Name = DEPUTYPC
Manufacturer = LENOVO
Model = 10091
HostOSArchitecture = 1033
FirmwareType = UEFI
BiosReleaseDate = 20121022000000.000000+000
BiosVendor = ESKT20A
BiosVersion = ESKT20A
HostOSVersion = 6.3.9600
HostOSBuildString = 9600.20111.amd64fre.winblue_ltsb_escrow.210812-0920
TargetOSBuildString = 10.0.19041.900 (vb_release_svc_prod3.210311-1736)
HostOSLanguageId =
HostOSEdition = Core
RegisteredAV = Windows Defender
FilterDrivers = FileInfo
UpgradeStartTime = 10/3/2021 9:41:57 AM
UpgradeEndTime = 10/3/2021 10:05:04 AM
UpgradeElapsedTime = 00:23:07
CV = F43WpQWc80e9Q8Qk
ReportId =

Error: SetupDiag reports abrupt down-level failure.
Last Operation: Finalize
Error: 0x80004005 - 0x50015