Server shutting off

SynapseTech

Reaction score
Built a new server for a customer that is running Server 2012 Essentials. Its been running great during the day but there has been 2 occasions in the last month where they have come in and the server has been off. I'm not good with log files and I don't know where to look to see what happened. I can see a bunch of them under computer managment>event viewer but there are so many.

I'll be on site on Monday to do some hardware testing but until then I want to see if there is anything I can check remotely to try and determine the problem.

Any log file gurus out there that can help me look in the right place?

You need to give waaaaaay more info:

First I think this is probably more of a hardware/electrical issue. That said:

- What type of server? This had better be brand new Dell, Lenovo, HP, etc. hardware, NOT a home/custom-built unit.

- What UPS is attached; brand, make & model? How old is it? If you're not sure or know it's a couple years old, install a replacement.

- Rule out any other electrical issues or connections; are the power cables being used for the server brand new? Is anything else plugged into the outlet/circuit that the server is using?

I'd start there...

Also, you must ensure the UPS attached is a Smart UPS with PFC - if it is not, that will cause this problem. AFAIK, virtually all servers require UPS's to have PFC and many higher-end power supplies do as well.

can you see what time it shuts off at? Is it the same time every night?

I have GFI installed on servers that I manage and get an email when they don't check in, this helps me determine when thing went wrong so helps me look through the log files.

If you know the time look for warning or errors in all the logs. It is probably electrical but the last time I got called to a new customer with this problem they had used an illegal copy of server 2008 (not saying they have that) and it shut itself down.