Network Configuration Recommendation

JoelM

Reaction score
I need some help with a recommendation. I have a customer that just had his house rebuilt. He did not have me do the wiring. It's wired for 2 ceiling mount AP's and ethernet and coax to all rooms from a central distribution.
His children are young but thinking ahead he wants to have his home office seperated on the network in case as his children get older and start playing. His words are "I’m sure at some point the kids will click a wrong button when they are on the network." He will have a printer in his office he would like to be shared and accessible on the network. I'm planning on doing Unifi AP's but I've never done VLANS before. The house is also wired for 4 security cameras that will be purchased and installed in the future.
What recommendation for equipment/configuration should I be looking at just focusing on the internet but knowing the cameras will come? Are VLANS the way to go with his request for the kids or something else?

Tons of network brands have gateways/switches/access points that all work together ...where you can create multiple separate networks (both wired..and wireless).

Yup...create the default network, such as 192.168.10.0/24, let the devices use that as the management network, use that for the main house, smart TVs, etc.

Create another network..VLAN...say, 192.168.20.0/24, for the office. If he needs ethernet ports...that's still doable...and a wifi network (SSID) for his office...bound to that VLAN.

Create yet another SSID/VLAN for the cameras...IoT stuff..if you want to separate them yet another layer further.

Generally you don't want to go above 4x SSIDs....each additional SSID you put on an AP will hinder performance.

Most systems support AP groups...if it's a large enough house where you'll have multiple APs...you can have certain APs do certain SSIDs/Networks. Or just keep it all universal across all AP for optimal coverage.