Gun control / Anti gun control

Rocco

Reaction score
Let's bring the discussion to this thread, and let the other thread be cleaned up and used for the sorrows we all feel for the victims of the vicious attack.

A few things I just want to say on my own part. Here in Wyoming, they changed the concealed carry law to where you don't even need a permit to cc. You just have to be a law abiding citizen. Heck, they even took away the requirement for basic gunmanship class to be able to conceal carry. (Which scares the heck out of me!)

I have a conceal carry permit still, since a lot of states will let me carry in their state with it, not just my own. I also can walk into any gun store and purchase a new gun, show my permit, and not have to wait any period to purchase it, since I have had all the back ground checks already. I keep a loaded gun in my car, next to my seat. I keep 2 guns around my house. I am a licensed NRA instructor in a few courses, including basic pistols, and concealed carry.

I want to see one law that has been proposed in the past that will take guns away from criminals. As a law-abiding citizen, I want to be able to be just as armed as anybody who wishes to rob me, or harm my family. As a law abiding citizen, I would follow any law that is passed, provided it passes the supreme court. However, I would do so with less enthusiasm. I do not believe more gun control laws are required. If a criminal has a gun, then I NEED a gun.

In the other thread, there was talk about the 1st amendment on these boards. I am still amazed that people still think the freedom of speech applies to any private person, or organization. The 1st amendment only protects you from the government. It does not protect you against anyone else.

For the record, I am a registered Democrat. (A Wyoming democrat is closer to a Republican from California...)