Electronics-recycling innovator faces prison for trying to extend computers' lives

TechLady

Reaction score
If I had to pick a side here, it's not Microsoft's.

http://www.latimes.com/business/technology/la-fi-microsoft-restore-disc-20180215-story.html

Lundgren said he thought electronics companies wanted the reuse of computers to be difficult so that people would buy new ones.* "I started learning what planned obsolescence was," he said, "and I realized companies make laptops that only lasted as long as the insurance would last. It infuriated me. That's not what a healthy society should have." He thought that producing and selling restore discs to computer refurbishers — saving them the hassle of downloading the software and burning new discs — would encourage more secondhand sales. In his view, the new owners were entitled to the software, and this just made it easier. The government, and Microsoft, did not see it that way.

"In essence, I got in the way of Microsoft's profits, so they pushed this into federal court on false pretense," Lundgren said. He said McGloin "testified that a free restore CD was worth the same price as a new Windows operating system with a license. ... This was false and inaccurate testimony provided by Microsoft in an attempt to set a precedent that will scare away future recyclers and refurbishers from reusing computers without first paying Microsoft again for another license. ... Anyone successfully extending the life cycle of computers or diverting these computers from landfills for reuse in society is essentially standing in the way of Microsoft's profits."

[* He's correct]

I'm more or less on the defendant's side, but still. If he would have come to Technibble and asked us "Hey guys, is it OK for me to make duplicates of Dell's restore disks and sell them?" I suspect the answer would have been a resounding no.

And in case you think your answer would have been "yes", here's what he did: