VPN behind comcast SMC box

TAPtech

Reaction score
I have a client with Comcast business internet service. They supply a gateway/router combo box. Unfortunately it cannot be configured in bridge mode, and Comcast tech support will not enable it (if it would even work). Thanks, Comcast.

Basically they want to sell you the $15/mo static IP. That's fine and all, but this client doesn't need a static IP. I want to setup a basic VPN using their existing router, but can't seem to get through the Comcast box. Double NAT and all that good stuff.

Anyone have experience with these things?

No, and I think that might be my standard response to clients with Comcast from now on. I'm really not too impressed with Comcast.

I think it's a bit silly for them to limit business customers in this way. I totally get it for residential, but the business clients use these sort of technologies all the time. What a pain.

My day job is a low voltage technician and the majority of what I do day to day is install surveillance systems in homes and businesses.
I can typically forward the ports in a standard router in a couple of minutes for remote access to the camera system BUT not if the business has a SMC modem/router from Charter Cable.
The GUI page is locked if the customer has routing enabled and to forward the ports one must wait on hold with Charter Business and hope the operator knows how to forward the ports correctly.
If all goes well forwarding the ports on the SMC modems takes me around 20 minutes but have had it take over an hour due to the incompetence of the charter rep.

I have a client with Comcast business internet service. They supply a gateway/router combo box. Unfortunately it cannot be configured in bridge mode, and Comcast tech support will not enable it (if it would even work). Thanks, Comcast.