Using NotePad++ for Editing PowerShell Scripts - Need 'PS1 Plugin'

allanc

Reaction score
I have never used NotePad++ before and I am trying to configure the same for editing PowerShell scripts.

This page mentions that "it's essential to install .... the PS1 plugin".
I have searched and I cannot locate the "PS1 plugin for NotePad++".
Perhaps, it is known by another name?

All assistance in downloading the "PS1 plugin for NotePad++" is appreciated.

Notepad++ highlighting is great but not really a requirement for editing anything and if you can't find the highlighter format for a type you can either go without, use a different app, or build your own/find one another has done.

Notepad++ highlighting is great but not really a requirement for editing anything and if you can't find the highlighter format for a type you can either go without, use a different app, or build your own/find one another has done.
What I would *really* find useful is auto-indenting that does nesting properly.
Maybe it is because of the way that my mind works, but I find levels of indentation very useful.

I would recommend using the "Windows Powershell ISE" It's included with Powershell 2.0+ and has all the commands ready for testing and insert/save.

1698696989837.png

"Windows Powershell ISE"

Thanks for pointing this out. I knew about it, once, but it had completely slipped my mind.

I absolutely hate Power Shell syntax, it's just amazingly verbose and unwieldy, and having an environment such as this that can do dedicated syntax checking and remind you about what that obscure command you use every few years, but only remember part of, actually is and how you write it out is most helpful.

Thanks for pointing this out. I knew about it, once, but it had completely slipped my mind.
Welcome. :)
Ya, it's a pretty useful tool to have.