Synology & Resilio

JoelM

Reaction score
I have a new customer with a home based business. It is a husband and wife. Between them they have 4 computers. They are currently using Resilio, https://www.resilio.com/ which I have never used before, to sync their documents etc between the computers. They do not want to use Sharepoint, OneDrive, Google Drive etc where they do not own their own data. Resilio seems to work fine for them to always have the same files without issues.

They have a Synology that was setup a year ago that they are not using. However, the individual who set it up showed them that there was a Resilio App for the Synology. I am trying to understand the benefit of the Synology app. Resilio works using a peer-to-peer sync as is but then Synology indicates if you install their app the sync happens through the NAS. https://www.synology.com/en-global/dsm/packages/resiliosync

Does anyone have any experience with Resilio who might be able to make it clearer what the difference is between how they currently sync Resilio now vs somehow using the Synology? It doesn't seem clear to me.

This seems like an overly-complicated solution. Why can't you put the shared data on the NAS and make mapped drives on the computers. That gives them access to all of Synology infrastructure and capabilities and doesn't rely on a "sync" app. Centralized data storage > individual data storage. For example, how are they backing up their data now? So easy with a Synology, and no extra cost if you keep the data local.

Edit: if the computers are laptops and they travel with them and need that data, then that might be an argument for syncing, but honestly if that's the case then they need to get over their reticence with OneDrive or Dropbox or Google Drive or whatever cloud solution would be the best solution.