[SOLVED] New PC slow to access network shares

tek9

Reaction score
Hi all.
I'm having some issues with a small business client that I can use some help with. I'm not very good with networking so I'm looking for all the help I can get.
Story is this: Client had 6 networked computers, no servers, just workgroup. 3 of the computers are Windows 7 (don't know if Pro or Home Premium), 3 are XP Pro. They called me in to replace one of the XP machines with a new Dell Optiplex 9020 Windows 7 Pro system.
The printer they're using is an HP LJ P4015n, and it's connected via USB to this XP (now Win7) machine and shared out to the others.
Now the wiring in this place was not done by a pro and it's obvious from the outside, but I didn't get a chance to check out all their equipment yet due to time constraints. All I know is that when I try to login to their router, the splash page shows it's a Sonicwall, but they don't know the password etc. I'm just mentioning this in case the Sonicwall might be the cause of the problems I'll outline shortly.
I tried to connect a temporary desktop switch to the one port next to this computer, so that both the old XP machine and the new Win7 machine could go online at the same time. This way I can install and update Quickbooks on the new machine while transferring the data from the old system via the network shares. Problem was that if I plugged in the computers via the switch they didn't get an IP address, just APIPA (169.254.x.x). Both computers did this, and I tried with two different switches with the same result. If I would connect either one of the computers directly to the jack in the wall it would get an IP address. So it can't be that the port is configured to only allow a specific MAC address, because the new computer worked fine.