Need help with failing Hard drive

16bwhitt

Reaction score
Hi all- First time dealing with file recovery. Had a customer with a failing hard drive after it repeatedly lost power (bad ice storm with power outages and surge/brown-outs). I took the hard drive out, and slaved it onto my computer to see if I can see the files. I could not. So, I ran chkdsk /f to see if that would help and it did. I could then see the disk and the files. (NOTE: In disk management, it says the drive is healthy). So, I copied all the files and transferred them over to a folder on my computer, and now I am running Macrium on the drive and cloning it.

Am I doing the right thing? Should I have done anything different?

I explained to him that we can either replace the hard drive (and CD-ROM, that is broken too), or he can get a new computer. He would like a new computer. It is, of course, coming with Windows 10. I have never used Macrium before, but what I understand is that all I do is create a disk from the clone and boot from the disk and it begins restoring the data. So this will overrride the Windows 10 OS, and reinstall 7 and all the files? Or will it keep 10 and put the files back on there?

I have already recommended BackBlaze and possibly an external drive for backups in the future. :)

ARG... NEVER run chkdsk on a questionable drive! You should always clone first. If you can't, then at least use something like R-Studio to recover the files BEFORE running chkdsk (which can completely destroy files to the point they are unrecoverable and/or destroy the partition structure). But... well done for checking in on the forum so in the future you can do it the safer way.

Plug his old drive to his new computer and use Fabs to transfer the data, offer him an external back up drive with his recovered data on it.
For recovery and cloning most here use ddrescue I believe, there's a guide on the Technibble articles.