Meta description off if search is for web address

carmen617

Reaction score
Hi, I am not a web developer at all. My site is a homemade one that I put together using the free website builder tool at my host (Ionos), and I have a meta description that I thought was working fine. But, when I tell my residential clients to type in my web address, they invariably put it in the search box, not the address bar. And when they do, the meta description is populated by text pulled off the bottom of my home page, the name of a reference and my contact information. Examples pictured below. Any easy fix?

computermom search.JPG thecomputermom.com search.JPG

I'm confused. That's the expected behavior, more or less, when you type a site name, partial or whole, into a browser search bar. Can you provide a screen shot of what you think it should be like. Different website is fine.

Of course I'm not a website developer and I didn't sleep at a Holiday Inn Express recently.

The screen shots are right there...

The only suggestion I have is to reindex the site, get into the Google webmaster tools and see what's there... because having two listings for the same URL is odd.

I'm confused. That's the expected behavior, more or less, when you type a site name, partial or whole, into a browser search bar. Can you provide a screen shot of what you think it should be like. Different website is fine.

Of course I'm not a website developer and I didn't sleep at a Holiday Inn Express recently.