Local storage for pictures with external access.

thecomputerguy

Reaction score
Client wants to drag and drop photos either locally or remotely into a storage system they want physically located in their house.

I said,

Well you pay for 5TB of Dropbox! Why bother just put them in there.
-- No that's in the cloud and I don't trust the cloud

Well you pay for OneDrive through your Business email, why not just put them in there?
-- No that's in the cloud and I don't trust the cloud

Well then why don't you just back them up to an external hard drive!
-- I don't want to carry it around

Client, "Can't I buy one of those WD Cloud Drives and have you set it up here and I'll take it home?"
Me, "Well I guess that's an option but I've never used them before because they are cheap junk. And if I configure it at my location I can't guarantee it will work at your location."

This all coming from someone who uses O365 for his business with Teams/SP. Utilizes Dropbox for other personal stuff, who's primary email is @aol.com, and primary cell phone is still a flip phone.

I'm dealing with an Ogre here.

I think my options are

1.) Synology and quote him REAL high for a 2 bay 8TB RAID1 like .. $1500-$2000
2.) Try a WD Cloud Drive
3.) Tell him I'll look into it and never get back to him

I'm leaning towards 3 but just thought I'd ask.

No that's in the cloud and I don't trust the cloud
Is he concerned that the cloud will lose all of his photos, or that the cloud can be breached and other people will get to see his stuff?

If it's the former, just have him store all the photos on local storage and then do a one-way sync into OneDrive or Dropbox. There are many ways to automate this and I'm sure we all have our favourites. He won't be able to add, change or remove remotely, but that's exactly the point - neither will his cloud provider or anyone else.