Ideas going through my head

Rocco

Reaction score
OK, I have spent the last 3 days doing nothing but reading the forums. I do believe in the Business and Legal forum, I read up to page 30, all the others I read to page 5 or so. I apologize this post will be long, and some of it I am sure will sound like rambling. It just helps me to write it out. :)

First, a little about myself, if you have not read my introduction. I am a 10 year veteran of the Air Force, where I worked on network servers and computers. I have A+, Network+, Security+, CEH, MCSE, and Microsoft Office 2010 trainer certificates. Why the CEH? I got that 3 years ago, just before my service was up. The 2 week classes cost over $6K. At that time, I thought it would be a great direction for me to head. However, a divorce and single parent status later, I can't see traveling in my future. I live in Wyoming, so the chances of getting many opportunities to do penetration testing here locally at the prices it deserves is slim to none. That is one certificate and license I am just going to let expire. :-(

Anyways, in the AF, I was in charge of over 500 computers, with about 2000 users. Many things can go wrong with those numbers, as I am sure you are aware. Now, one thing I am lacking at, and it seems to be the most prevalent thing you face is viruses and cleaning.

What? With all your background Rocky, how can that be? Well, hardware issues were tested and tested until we fixed it. Software issues, including slow computers or viruses, it was faster to re-image it. If you have never used a military computer, every computer on a base is set up exactly the same. (Some have special software, but that is all animated.) Basically, it took 20 minutes to format the computer and use an image disc. Any updates were then automatically done at bootup. So, with how many computers I had to look at daily, it was normally much easier and efficient than spending a couple hours trying to make it right.