Going to be quitting Computer Networking

NETWizz

Reaction score
Well folks, I made a decision in life... a BIG decision.

Basically, I just had a birthday and am not too many years away from 40 and have decided to make some big changes. I do NOT want to denigrate anyone or say anything disparaging about my career, but it has gotten to be stagnant with little room for growth. You see, I am a true expert in my field and things that most people in IT will not even touch I find easy. Nothing networking is a challenge unless it is something intermittent or some silly IOS bug (have seen enough of those). My frustrations are really anything I am working on if I have to spend more than about 10 to 15 minutes to make a change or configure/replace a switch. Long story short, it is no longer fun but rather I am beginning to dislike it for the same reason I am not a programmer... I am tired of being super detail oriented taking like 16 1Gbps connections with copper and having to delete nine unlabeled VLANS just to clean them up, label the remaining ones, half the time trace cable when a link is not active because say a firewall is in active/passive for an HA pair... then consolidate everything onto faster (fiber) trunks, etc. The only challenge at this point is keeping like 16 things straight at a time and cleaning up the mess folks before me made. It is honestly not any more fun than it would be cleaning up programming code where parts of a program are no longer used and nobody ever told the developer that half the variables and routines are no longer used etc... but you are given the task of replacing and upgrading it. I will continue for a couple more years, but no thank you long term. You see, I don't intend to be "replacing a switch" when I get to be 60; instead, I would rather let a younger lad who can learn do it.