Fab's Auto backup

Fred Claus

Reaction score
Anyone know about these file transfer programs? I've been using Fabs for a couple years now, and love it. A client of mine wants to buy EaseUS PCTrans instead. Does anyone know how they compare to Fabs?

Is that a program that moves programs as well as data so you don't have to reinstall anything? Run like the wind away from those. They are disasters in a box. You will be chasing weird little problems for the entire life of the new computer.

That's what I thought, but I wanted to make sure I was correct. The only way I know to move apps as well is with a full image backup. I will insist on him getting Fabs instead.

Seriously not liking this 7 version. Was easier the way it was before, it is asking for a .conf file. My backup does not even have one. With v6 was click restore>find backup archive> restore done. Now it is just long-winded and never find this .conf file!

Last edited:
Seriously not liking this 7 version. Was easier the way it was before, it is asking for a .conf file. My backup does not even have one. With click restore>find backup archive> restore done. Now it is just long-winded and never find this .conf file!
Sorry if you don't like it. I had to do it this way because of the ability to restore several use profiles at once. 6 could not do that. Now, if you don't have this file, it means that something went wrong when you backed up as it's created at the end of the process. I could change that a little bit so the file is created as soon as it starts the job.

This file should be located inside "X:\Path_To_Your_Backup\YYYY-MM-DD\Computer_Name" folder. If it is really not there, you can create one at this exact place (or depending to your backup configuration, in the folder where you find folders like "User_Name_1", "User_Name_X", "PUBLIC".

Here is how the folders structure should look like :

Code:
X:\
|__[PATH_TO_YOUR_BACKUP]
   |__[YYYY-MM-DD]
     |__[COMPUTER_NAME]
        |
        |__[ADMIN]