Document search not working Windows 10 Anniversary Update

carmen617

Reaction score
BTW have I mentioned how much I enjoy being able to toss these questions at a bunch of people who do what I do? Because i sit in my lonely computer dungeon all day asking Mr. Google for answers, and it's nice to have a few more heads to bounce these things off of.

OK, here's the scenario. Computer is a Dell XPS I've been supporting for maybe 4 years. Last year I upgraded to an SSD and clean installed Windows 10. Client's been happy until today, when she called me because her printer no longer worked after Anniversary Update. Get there and reinstall the printer, she says also having a problem now with search. She wants to type a document name in the Cortana box and have it come up, but it won't. I try, she's right. So I try a bunch of fixes including running a system file check (no corruption), DCIM (no problems), rebuilding the Index (yes I know I should have done that first but wanted to check for corrupt system first), making sure index includes her user files, etc. Can't get search to pull out documents. No error message, just nothing there.

She just did the Anniversary Update so I figure I'll try rolling it back and see if that solves the problem. It does, search works just fine. Well, we all know she's gonna get that Anniversary Update back eventually so that's not the final solution. Where to next?

I would give Tweaking Windows Repair All in One a shot and see what comes up.
Ah, good idea. Currently imaging the drive before upgrading it again. Will see if it happens after a second upgrade and then try Windows Repair.

And in answer to Porthos's question, Cortana was disabled for web searches on the pre-update system. System has a local account. Oh, and I tried creating a new local user account prior to rolling back, and it had the same issue.