Anyone with direct experience with the Epson EcoTank ET-3850 Wireless Color Multifunction?

britechguy

Reaction score
Let me preface this with:
1. This is intended for home use (my home, in this case).
2. I do not print thousands upon thousands of pages.
3. Much as I'd like a color laser printer, it's not practical for the space I have available - most inkjets are smaller.

I have been using Canon printers for many, many years now, but my latest one has given up the ghost. One of the things I liked about Canon was that inks came in their own dedicated tanks (as opposed to using tri-color cartridges) on the models I've owned and there were tons of third-party makers of refillable ink cartridges, which I what I've been using (and refilling myself) for years, too.

But now Epson has something that is, for me, even better: the refillable ink tank that has much greater volume than any single ink cartridge. This looks to be less messy and the need to add ink less frequent. In addition to what comes with the printer itself, which is not insubstantial, I have large commercial sized bottles I've been working from as refill stock.

I'm mostly interested in the general print quality, whether the document feeder works and holds up, and whether the whole unit itself has proven reliable. They're on sale right now at Costco through this coming Sunday, and I'm trying to decide whether to snag one or not.

I don't know if the existing big bottles you have would work properly for the Epson. I think their refill bottles are pretty reasonable. One thing I've noticed is that the printers are on the low-end of the scale. I remember making a comparison when they first came out. The unit with the ink tanks was $300 and what looked like essentially the same model printer with regular cartridges was $100.

I've installed a few of the Epsons for clients and have seen clients who have them and they seem pretty good.