The amazing power of Linux

I just study Linux, I plan to move away from Windows in the future. But so far everything seems too complicated.

The best part of Linux is that it forced Microsoft to open up a bit and to innovate more. I keep a Mint machine around just for data recovery and I agree that it's become a very good and stable platform. It runs on dying toasters pretty well even.

However, when it breaks, I have almost no luck in figuring out how to fix it. When you Google something about Linux you've got to wade through dozens of different distributions, eras, and releases. Then you have to navigate a command-line syntax that makes MS-DOS look elegant. (Sure, I know that if you had a Unix or BSD background you could be right at home!)

Finally, I've been doing PC work since 1982 and I've never once had a paying Linux customer. I mean I even got paid to solder Timex-Sinclairs together for people.

So, I'm happy and glad that Linux is around but you'll never pry my cold dead fingers from my over-tweaked Windows 11 Professional running on a PCI4 NVMe SSD with 64Gigs of DDR5-5600 RAM.

Then you have to navigate a command-line syntax that makes MS-DOS look elegant.

Eh, both MS-DOS and all of the various *nix shells are sylph-like ballet dancers compared to PowerShell!

And I have never, once, had a single paying Linux customer, and I chalk that up to two things:
1. Linux geeks are just that - they have little need of our services.
2. Linux has not gotten, and will never, get, a significant portion of the desktop market. They've had decades to do it, there are many perfectly wonderful distros for the end user, and there's lots more Linux ports of popular software than there ever has been. It's just not catching on. It will remain a niche market, beloved by data centers the world over, but never make inroads in the home and office.