Remote desktop assistance

Mark22

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently learning about remote connection, I'm new to it, help me figure it out. How to use Windows remote assistance?
I would appreciate your help!

I use Quick Assist very frequently.

Only the person who is the assistant, who has to generate a code that you give to the assistee, needs to have a Microsoft Account. And that makes sense since Microsoft Servers are the intermediaries in these exchanges and someone has to have an account to set up the session with the server.

I also use Quick Assist a lot, because it's on every Windows 10/11 computer and very easy to for end users to find by simply telling them to type "q" in search. No need to type the full name of the app.

A couple of limitations:
(1) no scaling so when I use my 27" 4K monitor the users screen is barely readable. I've now learnt to change my display resolution to FHD when helping.
(2) UAC prompt is not passed to the helper, you just get a blank screen. So you need to ask the end user to click Yes.

I use Quick Assist very frequently.

Only the person who is the assistant, who has to generate a code that you give to the assistee, needs to have a Microsoft Account. And that makes sense since Microsoft Servers are the intermediaries in these exchanges and someone has to have an account to set up the session with the server.

Great I just spent 15 minutes on the phone with a client who couldn't find the huge numbers on anydesk after finally emailing him a link to download it. There will be those who cannot access the MS store.

Rick

There will be those who cannot access the MS store.