Outlook 2010 - Merge PSTs

DCGPX

Reaction score
Need a bit of advice on this , I'm by no means an Outlook expert.

I was at a home business clients yesterday and he asked if it was possible to move his Outlook files to 'My Document' so he could back up same as rest of his business documents.

(Finally someone who understands principle of backups!)

So I move his PSTs to the Outlook folder in My Docs - There were 5, one for each of his business emails in IMAP setup so he can sync(ish) to his Iphone.

All is well and working fine, then he asks why 5 separate PSTs? I replied thats the way Outlook sets up IMAPs and as far as I know only POP accounts go into a single PST file.

So he asks can the others be merged into one single file?

Which is what I didn't know so said I'd look into it.

I've googled and found example of putting the folders into another PST but what wasnt clear is does the account info go with then. If I then delete the PST will it stop collecting the emails for that account?

I looked at PSTMerge from Systools but again nothing mentioned about transferring account setups into a single PST.

Personally I'd have thought it best to keep separate PSTs but he's now intent on having just the one.

Anyone ever merged IMAPs into one PST? If it can be done I'd assume they must use extensive rules to separate the emails as they'd go into one Inbox?

Appreciate any pointers - I dont want to mess with business emails without at least some good idea if it can be done or not safely.

Thanks

First, make a backup of all pst's before you begin.

Then, select one to be the master. Then open each of the non master psts and export the folders that you wish to merge.

Then open the master and one by one import the exported folders. Check box not to make duplicates.

If it works well you should end up with a single master pst that has all your email, contacts and calender events in one place.