macbook pro won't power on

Go-To Gordon

Reaction score
I'm new to mac repair and thus far all the jobs I've taken have been software/osx issues until now.

Late 2011 13 inch macbook pro. He wasn't sure what osx. Probably whatever it came with.

Power button does nothing. Charger indicates it's charging, Battery indicator shows the battery is charged. User says sometimes it turns on (once in a few months). When it does it will run just fine until you shut the lid, then it's dead again. He said they left it open for 3 months and it ran fine, even when it went to sleep just not when you shut the lid. He then didn't touch it for a few months and when he tried it randomly cut on. After shutting down or closing the lid (not sure which he did, I think shut the lid) it's "dead" again. No spills reported (I asked), said the usb's worked fine as well.

Google pointed me in a few directions.

I do not have another power cord to try. Lights show green or amber depending what state it's in. It's the correct wattage original cord.

I've reset SMC

I've tried SMC bypass (With the magsafe disconnected press and hold the power button. While continuing to hold the power button plug in the magsafe connector. Continue to hold down the power button for 5 to 10 seconds. Release the power button and wait a couple of seconds. Now press and release power button)

Tried a pram/nvram but it's not powering on.

Tried unplugging the battery.

Tried with hard drive disconnected. Connected my external with Yosemite, still nothing. Pulled his data off via parted magic on my bench machine and checked smart.

Tried one stick of ram at a time.

Checked usb ports for shorted/bent pins. Pins looked fine but very dirty/dusty in there. Canned air didn't do much.

Checked logic board for damage (see pics). Cleaned all dust etc. No clear liquid damage but as you can see there is one spot that doesn't look so good!