Linux firefox crashing

bnrr

Reaction score
I am a linux newbie and in need of help with issues with firefox as the main webpage for ubuntu(did I spell that right:confused:) I was kind intrested in trying out linux for the very first time. so I downloaded the OS installation and installed it as the second OS in my system (1st is XP pro) and did not experience any problems at all. after 4 days exploring and learning all about how to use linux and its features it happen, firefox crash, flickering black out which only last about 1 second, every time I click one websit in book marks the screen just kept on flickering black and crash and last longer more then 5 minutes. I could not get it restarted without use the restart button on tower panel. I tried to use what is called the 3 fingers of death which is Ctrl+Alt+Delt, but nothing happens so I had no choice but to use the reset button. I know that linux is not a windows OS, and useing the Ctrl+Alt+Del is probably not the right way to go. Now I do not want to boot to Ubuntu without the knowledge of what to do when encountering a problem. could someone please enrich me with what I should do in solving the crash prolbems:D My thanks to everyone, anyone who helped:D
system:
Geforce motherboard 939 socket AMD 64 3500+ processor
WD250gigabyte and 1gigabyte RAM

I have the same issue once in a while - I bet you have Flash installed - it is a know issue - Adobe is in the process of updating the Linux Flash 9 install.

Adobe put version 9 out their quick (glad they did!!) has a bug or 2 in it. I hear the new version of Firefox (V. 3) fixes this. I heard of peopel upgrading to Firefox 3 Beta all the time.

Holzster