Considering getting MCITP or CCNA @ local community college - Is it worth it?

tankman1989

Reaction score
I've had a tough time finding a good job in the last couple years. I became frustrated with IT in general so I was thinking of dropping it as a career in general and heading in the direction of Alt energy (either sales, installation or engineering). BTW, I'm 31 and have a BSBA in MIS and am very capable of most administrative tasks in all MS OS's as well as most flavors of Linux. I'm mostly self taught.

I have always shied away from certs as I figured that I would pick up much of the experience in the field or in my reading. Unfortunately it is hard to prove what I have learned in my private studies or experience.

I have experience working for/with fortune 100 companies to as small as self employed single person businesses. I have been responsible for just about every task under the sun with regards to IT, sometimes just touching on some skills but learning and doing enough to get by.

My ideal job would be to be self employed and have a clientele of mainly business users, small businesses, Home offices and some residential. I would be willing to work as an employee as well.

So, the following are the classes which are available at my local community college. I feel that I need a "refresher" after being out of the IT industry for some time. Prior to my unemployment I feel that I could have easily attained an 80% + on the A+ exam with little to no prep. I have also done some studying on Sec+ and Linux+ but never tested for them.

I think in the long run I would like to pursue IT/network security but I think this is something that is going to take some time to acheive so in the meantime I need to make myself marketable to provide support while I letn IT security.

The class offered at my community college is:
Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP): Server Administrator $6,225
MW 6-9:30 pm 2/16-5/25
Saturday 8 am-4 pm 2/19-5/14

There is also