Trying to run FABS against a drive that apparently won't initialize

IMHO every tech should have a Linux machine on their workbench. From mounting and reading drives that Windows won't/can't to using ddrescue for recovery it's a resource all of us should have and use (especially considering the price - heh).

Agreed. I just don't do this pretty much at all any more.

My software engineering career has me way too busy (plus two young little daughters) to consider doing break / fix and I'm not going to bother offering data recovery support like this in mission critical situations anyways. Not worth it to me.

A few years back, when I joined here, I was doing around 5-7 break fix jobs a month on the side when I was a brand new software dev. Now I'm doing a handful a year, and really honestly don't want those jobs... they are the ones that come back to me and I don't have the heart to say no. Family members / friends I sold machines too in the past few years or the lone customer or two who doesn't trust anyone else.

IMHO every tech should have a Linux machine on their workbench. From mounting and reading drives that Windows won't/can't to using ddrescue for recovery it's a resource all of us should have and use (especially considering the price - heh).
No-one listens unfortunately it seems. I have a dedicated linux system for this purpose, with m.2 card readers of various formats as well.

Agreed. I just don't do this pretty much at all any more.

My software engineering career has me way too busy (plus two young little daughters) to consider doing break / fix and I'm not going to bother offering data recovery support like this in mission critical situations anyways. Not worth it to me.