Thinking of closing retail store, stick with businesses.

RCD_Technology_Solutions

Reaction score
Good Morning,

I hope this finds you well.

First a little background, I am a computer consultant for many years who purchased a computer store in 2012. Thought this was a good idea to build business, and it was, perhaps still is.

As the years marched on business changes and I was focusing more on business clients than residential. I was also seeing a trend to have MSP Contracts. I looked at my client base and pitched the idea to them and they all agreed. I only pitched to companies with more then 5 Wkst and at least one server. Currently my largest clients have 50+ desktops and 4 servers on average, so it is a nice chunk of change. I also up sell AV, Splashtop, O365 and Backup as add-ons, which that all have. Currently managing 360 machines.

I still own the store and it is operated by 1 FTE and myself. My wife handles the billing and banking...

I have been thinking (For a year or so) since the residential market is in a decline why have the store. Std reasons BB and amazon will undersell everyone, so we get our money on service...
Financially speaking the store pays its way and with a little profit for me at the end of the year, excluding the MSP contracts which is another category in QB. I like to keep the store separate from the MSP / Business clients, I do however pay the FTE from both sides 75% Store and 25% MSP/Business.

A few weeks ago my FTE decided to move on (Which is fine, never fault anyone to do better.) and left a few days ago. Placed a few ads for a new FTE, but the talent is not there and for the talent that is I ask a few basic questions. What is DNS, DHCP and TCP/IP, 95% fail that test.

This leads me closing shop and working out of my house and just to the MSP thing and a few select residential loyal customers.

So what does the Technibble Brethren say?

Thanks!!!!

What is DNS, DHCP and TCP/IP, 95% fail that test.