Outlook troubles yet again. OST files?!?

d3v

Reaction score
Hi guys a business client that I've been working for the past two years has just tasked me to upgrade his core i5 laptop to as SSD which has been simple and easy for me to do and the performance increase is absolutely phenomenal however I've hit a bit of a wall when it comes to migrating his Outlook 2013 emails.

He has two OST files in his appdata/local/microsot/outlook and one PST archive file in this MyDocuments/Outlook folder. All three are loaded in his single business IMAP email account.

At first I tried simply re-creating his account then dragging dropping the OST files in the correct folders, but unlike with PST files, this did not work!

I tried following the microsoft help pages regarding this matter but didn't find them helpful other than making me aware that OST files are completely different to PST!

Hi,

You may have to spend some money on a tool to convert the OST to a PST open the PST in outlook and then drag n drop back to his inbox.

I've got a tool which was not too expensive but I'm on my ipad at the moment, but should be able to give you the name of the tool later, if not google is your friend.

OST is for exchange, but since it's IMAP why do you have to transfer anything?

It will automatically sync up.

Why does he have OST files at all if he's using IMAP? Offline Store files are only generated by Outlook when it is connected to a Microsoft Exchange Server. Are the OST files older by any chance? Did he use an Exchange account in the past?

He has two OST files in his appdata/local/microsot/outlook and one PST archive file in this MyDocuments/Outlook folder. All three are loaded in his single business IMAP email account.

Something's not right here. OST files are used with Exchange, not an IMAP account.

Either he has:
1) two email addresses, one using Exchange and one using IMAP; or
2) he uses IMAP and the OST files are from a old Exchange account that's no longer in use.