If you're in the game: Spread your ears to listen

MikeLierman

Reaction score
Lots of good advice here. Sherly Mirenta was my old boss in Washington state. I interned there for a couple years when I was 16. She's owned KC Computer Repair for about 5 years now and is doing exteremeely well! Here is our conversation.

Sheryl Mirenta
YOU are pretty fantastic. Finishing school early. WOW!!!! What are you up to?

April 20Michael Lierman
Well I graduated high school a year ago. Right now I'm doing a ton of advertising for my business, constantly handing out business cards and information and special deals for my computer services. How's everything for you going??!

April 20Sheryl Mirenta
Shifting gears. Doing a lot of remote tech support. Lots of eldery that can't bring their computers in. So I service them remotely. It is good. Lots of business. Lots of laughs. Miss your face there.

April 20Michael Lierman
Ahhh remote support! What do you use? LogMeIn?

April 20Sheryl Mirenta
I use Go To Assist. Easy.....Secure...Cheap Like it a lot.

April 20Michael Lierman
Are you a member of TechNibble? It's a forum for computer repair business owners, it's been fun to read some of the things that other people are posting about their experiences

Can I ask you a question? Being an entreprenuer and business owner yourself. What's the most important lesson you have learned?

April 20Sheryl Mirenta
LISTEN TO THE CUSTOMER. When they are talking.... listen to them. They will be yours forever. If you just "show" them how much you know they will have bad feelings for you. BUT if you LISTEN to them, and provide what THEY need they will always come to you. Look them in the eye and take notes.

April 20Michael Lierman
That's good advice! I have a notes section right on my work orders, I sometimes use it when they are explaining things, I could improve on that. What about when expanding? Is it better to hire people than doing everything yourself?
Right now I do everything by myself.