Idiot's Guide To ddrescue

HFultzjr

Reaction score
Ok, here goes nothing!

I've put together a "Guide" for anyone who would like to start using ddrescue.

Ok, a couple of things first........
This is for BEGINNERS (those who have no understanding of Linux).
This uses ddrescue not dd_rescue....they are two different programs
This is just the very basics to get you started. More commands may be added later.
I AM NOT PROFICIENT WITH LINUX!
I suck at writing guides, grammer and spelling!
I am not responsible for any lost data...I do not suggest trying to learn it with customer's data.
I probably won't be much help with questions, as I'm still learning this. But I'm sure others can be of help.

Please look at the following link. It is where most of my guide is based on. LOOK AT IT FIRST....the "guide" will make much more sense.

http://www.myfixlog.com/fix.php?fid=21

Ok, here goes...........

Idiot's Guide To ddrescue
Items Needed:
Computer with bad hard drive
Latest version of Parted Magic (08/01/2013) ISO burned to bootable CD
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/parted_magic.html
USB drive larger than the partition you are trying to recover with one large NTFS formatted partition of the entire drive

Procedure #1:
Boot Parted Magic CD
Select 1st boot option (or others if needed)
After booting, you will be presented with the Parted Magic Desktop
Run the Disk Health icon located on the desktop
This will run g-smart control which can be used to determine if your drive is bad
After drive is determined bad proceed to Procedure #2

Procedure #2:

Plug in USB drive