how to calculate your rates (an example)

frederick

Reaction score
Disclaimer
First a disclaimer: I AM NOT A CPA/ACCOUNTANT OR EVEN A FINANCIAL PLANNER! I am a business owner. You will only take this as an example, a guide if you will, and will not hold me liable for any missed information or incorrect information. It’s on you to fill the holes. Everything here is an example, these are in no way my personal values, etc.

A Little Intro
This is how we’ve (specifically me) have been calculating our overhead/expenses, which in the end, dictates your rates so you make a profit. Hopefully this will help people to quit asking so much about rates…
This is all an example, sadly, you’ll have to look over your own bills and figure it out for yourself. It doesn’t matter where you operate your business, because it really boils down to what you need to pay to operate your business. I break my expenses into 4 main categories: Survival, Sustainment, CYA, and Growth.
The key is, you have to separate business from personal (for the US I know for sure). If anything can be classified as personal, it gets tricky. Find a CPA.

Survival
Survival is what you need to continue operating business, regardless of location. It could be your house, a garbage can, it doesn’t matter. It also includes the tools we need, whether it is a wrench or a piece of software, to do the job. The survival breakdown is as such with example expenses, try to keep it what you need, not what you want.

Property/Rent: $1,200/month
This is your businesses location and how much rent you need to pay. If in your house, the designated % of space of your home for your business when it comes to tax time applies, not the amount you designate. Our example is high, because we are going to say we have a store front or a mortgage payment.
Utilities
- Electricity: $400/month
- Sewage/Garbage, etc (Property Maintenance): $150/month
- Internet/Phones: $120/month