Damndest issue I've had in awhile...

Archon Prime

Reaction score
Hey everyone, long time no see. I'm still trucking, just haven't been too active on here as of late.

So I've got a strange issue that I've been troubleshooting off and on for a few months now with a client.

Got a Lenovo MJ0C6Z0S - AMD Ryzen 5 3500G with Radeon Vega Graphics.
Latest Microsoft 10 Home updates and feature release 10.0.19044 64-bit
This was purchased last September. We came across the issue with the computer showing offline in Datto RMM at random points. The customer told me that keyboard/mouse were not responding, has to do a complete shutdown (holding power). The desktop is showing when this occurs no errors or anything else on the screen. Take note there isn't even network data transmitting since RMM is not getting the updates.

On reboot it's fine and might work okay from 5 minutes more to several hours or days, then rinse and repeat.
I ruled out dirty power, power bar, power plug, etc. Ruled out printer connection, etc. So I was perplexed as to what was going on at this point. Even moved it to a completely different part of their office with no changes.

I went onsite and attempted to reset Windows, wiping the whole thing and installing from scratch. When it was doing that it locked up during the prep, and we were then in a boot loop.

So I brought the computer back and wiped it clean with Windows 10's restore from web option via USB, blah blah. Installed latest drivers from Lenovo's site and double checked everything else with SDI origins, and it was all up to date. That was done. Everything was restored (just files) from their cloud backup. Reinstalled apps from scratch. When I had it here for a good day, it was fine. Back to the clients and it was fine for a few days or so, then it started to do it again, and more frequently.

At this point I ran out of options and we were looking at doing an RMA with Lenovo