Another Win 8 thread. Maybe with a twist.

mraikes

Reaction score
Sorry for starting yet another Windows 8 thread, but my thoughts don't seem to quite fit the flow of the others.

Until recently my experience with Win 8 was pretty limited. A peek here and there just to see what the fuss was about. But nothing serious or in depth at all. Until about a week ago.

As is my habit with each new Windows release, I purchased a brand new computer with the brand new OS and jumped in with both feet using it as my "daily driver". XP, Vista, Win 7, they've all been through my process.

Each time I've stepped into a new OS I've encountered differences that I liked and others that I disliked. At worst I'd be on the fence until I got really used to the new stuff. After all, I'm a tech. These changes are supposed to be easy for me. And frankly I'm good at navigating unfamiliar technology and figuring things out. I suspect many of you are the same way.

And now for the last week or so a shiny new HP Pavilion desktop fat with Windows 8 goodness has been occupying the prime position on my desk. And I hate it. I've never said that before about any operating system. But there it is. It even overrides the pleasure of a spankin' new computer right out of the box. I've come to dread using it.

It's not that I'm actually unable to do most things. It's that everything I have to do is so doggone irritating. It's like a paper cut that doesn't prevent you from your normal activities, but is painful at every movement. And doesn't get better.

Until a short while ago I couldn't put my finger on exactly why the whole package is bothering me so much. Why is it so gosh darn irritating. Use it, learn it and get over it Mathew!

But like a bolt of lightning through my dim bulb I now realize my problem. A revelation that may be obvious to some of you, but I completely missed.