Another SSD with possible problems

sorcerer

Reaction score
Looking for an SSD to put in my Zalman and I've recently had two Crucial MX100s that have been faulty and had to be returned. I bought them locally because I only live about 1.5 miles from CPC but after two faulty ones I decided on a refund in case they have a faulty batch.

Couple of days ago I put an order in with Ebuyer and noticed that they had a Kingston SSD (SV300) on offer and that it scored 9.3 over more than 350 reviews at Revoo, so I thought it's got to be worth a punt. It arrived this morning but, having been bitten twice, I thought I'd run a GSmartControl test first before chucking it in the Zalman. It passed the extended test without errors but has a couple of attributes flagged. Question is, I've no experience of SSDs so would you return it because of these or would it be ok?

ssd.jpg

Kingston SSD (SV300) on offer and that it scored 9.3 over more than 350 reviews at Revoo

End user scores are worth diddly squat :(

I'm running an Intel SSD in mine. No problems so far.

I believe E-Buyer has a good return policy. Tell them you're not happy with it, and would like to exchange it for an Intel:
240GB: http://www.ebuyer.com/523678-intel-530-series-240gb-2-5inch-sata-6gbs-ssd-ssdsc2bw240a4011
120GB: http://www.ebuyer.com/567933-intel-530-series-120gb-2-5inch-7mm-oem-ssd-ssdsc2bw120a401

Andy

I have one Intel and one Samsung 250 GB in my personal rig that runs 24/7 and about 10 other In client machines without issue. I only trust those 2 brands so far and I make sure that all of the machines have image backups as I only trust them to a point.

Think I'll take Andy's advice and swap it for an Intel. Gotta say though, I wouldn't put an SSD in a computer of mine given my (admittedly very limited) experience of them so far. I only thought of putting one in the Zalman because of power issues reported by some people when using a mechanical drive.