Semi-random Win7 Freezes, mostly during gaming... perhaps de-clocking?

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

twistyxo

I bought a custom PC from a trusted guy on an old message board about a year and a half ago. Here are the specs:

CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge @ 3.4Ghz (Overclocked to 4.6Ghz) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor CPU

Cooler: CORSAIR CWCH60 Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

Mobo: ASUS SABERTOOTH P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

On-Board Audio

On-Board LAN

Video Card: MSI N580GTX Lightning GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi) 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 Video Card

Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz Memory

Hard Drive: 240GB SATA III 6.0GB/s Internal Solid State Drive

Optical: 24x DVD-RW Burner

Power Supply: 650W 80 Plus ATX Power Supply

Case: LIAN LI Lancool First Knight Series PC-K57W ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

It was serving me just fine for a while, and then about a year ago I started playing Fallout 3 and noticed that my whole system would just freeze mid-game. No BSOD, not ctrl+alt+delete functionality, just a total lock up and I'd have to manually power down. I thought it was a Fallout 3 issue so I applied some freeze fixes to no avail. The freezing would happen anywhere from 5-60 minutes in, but generally at some point within an hour in a given session it was likely to happen. Eventually I abandoned my play through.

Recently I've gotten into CSGO and the same thing happens, at some point the whole PC freezes. This has become annoying because I'm trying to get into competitive play and abandoning matches has a real bad effect on ranking up. Lastly, I tried playing Dota with my friend a few days ago and I froze 30 min in. So it's truly not game specific.