Ebike conversion - Bafang BBSHD 1000+ watt

Diggs

Reaction score
I ride my old vintage 10-speed road bike 5-10 miles almost every day. I started riding mostly for the cardio benefits but enjoy the silence of it while hearing/seeing/smelling everything. The smooth and quiet is something I really appreciate as I pass by so much wildlife without them even realizing I'm there. Where I live in Wisconsin is very rural and it's not unusual to see deer, fox, turkey, cranes, herons, egrets, eagles, hawks, etc. all on one ride. (I have several enduro style motorcycles but I reserve them for trail riding in the dirt.)

Anyway - I've ridden almost every where within a small radius of where I live many times and in an effort to widen my ride area I ordered a Bafang BBSHD 1000 watt mid-drive kit (with 52v 13 ah Samsung celled battery) for my bicycle. Now 750 watts is the most legally allowed in the states for a road bike but off-road kits such as this are available that offer more and can be easily installed on road bikes. A 1,000 watt drive will basically allow you to do wheelies from a standing start and easily hit 40 mph not even pedaling. None of these are my goals as I prefer not to stretch chains and break spokes. The kit comes with trip computer/controller that has 5 levels of pedal assist (PAS) as well as a thumb throttle. It is one of the premier kits on the market right now. I'm stoked to get it installed and get out there. I'm also hoping it doesn't negate my cardio benefits as I plan to do more and longer PAS rides.

Here's a quick video about the unit I bought and there is a huge amount of info and videos out there about the Bafang BBSHD.

Looks like fun but dang man... $700 and then you have the bike to put under it. I've never toyed with all this much because to get what I'd like, I'd have to spend more than what it takes to get a cheap car! And that relative value gap just turns me right off.