Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Guides, Tips and Tricks

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2009, 01:20 AM
stevenamills stevenamills is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 859
stevenamills is on a distinguished road
Default Can't connect XP to shared Vista printer

I've run into this before and maybe someone else has. A third round of research seemed to reveal the answer.

When adding the printer in XP, add a local printer and set the port to \\vistaname\printername. Has worked every time in my small test sample. Even the wretched Windows update option found the needed driver, although loading the driver before installation seems quicker.

Thought it might help someone else.
__________________
Steve

Fox Valley Computer Services
The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog. –Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:57 AM
seedubya's Avatar
seedubya seedubya is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Carlow, Ireland
Posts: 3,375
seedubya has a spectacular aura aboutseedubya has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IT Consulting View Post
There are lot of problems when using two different Windows on same network so I will suggest you to try installing XP.
Dude, if that's what you're telling your customers they need a new technician. This is a myth that has been doing the rounds since people were trying to network Win95 with WFWG 3.11. Almost every business network I work on has Vista on at least a few of the PCs and some of them even have a couple of systems running Windows 98. Guess what? They all talk to each other. You need some more networking experience.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2009, 12:45 PM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,067
iptech is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IT Consulting View Post
There are lot of problems when using two different Windows on same network so I will suggest you to try installing XP.
I hope you don't charge for advice like this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2009, 01:06 PM
NickCat11's Avatar
NickCat11 NickCat11 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,324
NickCat11 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IT Consulting View Post
There are lot of problems when using two different Windows on same network so I will suggest you to try installing XP.
Looks like you need to go back to the drawing board...
__________________
Nicholas Catanoso
Garden Greenhouse and Nursery
Avalon Campground

Last edited by NickCat11; 09-04-2009 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:56 AM
Sn@Ke Sn@Ke is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 114
Sn@Ke is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenamills View Post
I've run into this before and maybe someone else has. A third round of research seemed to reveal the answer.

When adding the printer in XP, add a local printer and set the port to \\vistaname\printername. Has worked every time in my small test sample. Even the wretched Windows update option found the needed driver, although loading the driver before installation seems quicker.

Thought it might help someone else.
Works the same way with a network printer, tell it that it's a local machine and then enter the printer IP as the path
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2009, 04:04 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 845
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Also - if the printer is attached to the Vista machine - you need to change the workgroup name on the XP machine - as XP and Vista use two different default workgroups. Additionally - on the Vista machine you need to turn file and print sharing on and either unpassword protect the share or connect using a password from the XP machine during setup.
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2009, 01:45 AM
JRDtechnet JRDtechnet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 681
JRDtechnet is on a distinguished road
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922120 see if that helps.
__________________

Computer Repair NJ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2009, 04:46 AM
coco3_man's Avatar
coco3_man coco3_man is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 322
coco3_man is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Maybe this

If all the network parameters are setup correctly, check and see if the "IRPStackSize" key exists in the registry. Just had an issue 2 weeks ago where adding this to the 3 XP machines and the 1 Vista machine got them talking again.

Create a blank .xt file, copy and paste the below info into it, save, rename with .reg ifdoes not exist. If it causes problems, remove it.



Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\lanmanserver\parameters]
"IRPStackSize"=dword:00000015


Tom

ps for some reason, when I post this "Services" in the key becomes "Servic es", take the space out when you copy and paste in the text file

Last edited by coco3_man; 10-02-2009 at 04:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:25 AM
Tweak's Avatar
Tweak Tweak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,024
Tweak is on a distinguished road
Talking

Funny stuff, have networked printers across networks both ways in the same office at different times...once just a few days ago when one printer went down and is being replaced once the new arrives, this gets them back running till that time, you guys actually made me laugh out loud when stating they need a new tech.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2009, 02:16 PM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,177
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IT Consulting View Post
There are lot of problems when using two different Windows on same network so I will suggest you to try installing XP.
I agree, if upgrading them all to Windows 7 is not an option. Vista's networking has sucked from day one and it has never played well with an XP network.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.