Go Back   Technibble Forums > The Computer Repair Business > Business and Legal Issues

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:47 PM
nibblesandbits nibblesandbits is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 403
nibblesandbits is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Vista Headache - startup repair over an hour

Before reading this long rant, my simple question is:

"How do you get a Vista DVD (with all versions on it) to install on a dell laptop that's wanting a CD-DRIVE driver as soon as it boots from CD into the vista installer"?

How did the computer boot up if it didn't recognize the drive? Doh!

So I've been sitting here with a Dell Studio 17" and the thing will NOT boot up. I've tried my Vista disc and of course it says "we need a driver for your cd drive" umm... YOU ARE VISTA YOU SHOULD HAVE THE DRIVERS SINCE WHEN DOES WINDOWS ASK FOR REMOVABLE STORAGE DRIVERS?!?!?!?!?!?! AHHHHHHHHH


Okay, so enough there. But seriously, I'm sick of watching the start up repair progress bar go over and over and over only to end up saying Window cannot repair this computer automatically. I can use the dell image after formatting, but then I end up getting the same stop error that started this whole problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:54 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,589
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

You need to post the exact error. I think I know what you are seeing but I cannot be sure.
__________________
Asking for help ? If the make and model of your computer OR the O/S info is left off your post, I probably will not help you. It gets real old, real quick for me to have to ask for basic info just to help people.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:55 PM
Doctor Micro's Avatar
Doctor Micro Doctor Micro is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 616
Doctor Micro is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Doctor Micro
Default

Is your Vista DVD a Dell DVD or Generic OEM?

Maybe the internal drive is bad, or (could this be possible... the internal drive is a CD and your Vista disk is a DVD... are you perhaps missing something very obvious here?)

Otherwise, you might try an external USB DVD
__________________
Doctor Micro, Inc.
Champaign County Illinois Friendly Computer Specialists
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:00 PM
nibblesandbits nibblesandbits is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 403
nibblesandbits is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Will post back with my findings. Seems to be working now without asking for a dvd-drive driver. Odd. I've done it 10 times, then I post this and it seems to be fine.

Gotta love it when no matter how much you know - the computer still beats you by giving you some inexplicable error then works as it should.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:05 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,589
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nibblesandbits View Post
Odd. I've done it 10 times, then I post this and it seems to be fine. Gotta love it when no matter how much you know - the computer still beats you by giving you some inexplicable error then works as it should.
Yes, if you did the SAME EXACT THING 10 TIMES, but then why would you do the same thing exactly the same, 10 TIMES. Did you do something different, a little different each time?. Then it's not really inexplicable, is it ?.
__________________
Asking for help ? If the make and model of your computer OR the O/S info is left off your post, I probably will not help you. It gets real old, real quick for me to have to ask for basic info just to help people.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:07 PM
nibblesandbits nibblesandbits is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 403
nibblesandbits is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYJimbo View Post
Yes, if you did the SAME EXACT THING 10 TIMES, but then why would you do the same thing exactly the same, 10 TIMES. Did you do something different, a little different each time?. Then it's not really inexplicable, is it ?.
You'd think this would be the case, but when the only thing I COULD do was insert DVD, "press any key to boot from CD" and then WAIT... no I didn't do anything different this time and it's installing. Now THAT IS inexplicable. lol

EDIT: Oh, and clicked Install after it loaded the DVD. haha I wasn't even getting that the first 9 times. And I did it 10 because I knew that's all you have to do.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2009, 11:34 PM
MrUnknown's Avatar
MrUnknown MrUnknown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,347
MrUnknown is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
I can use the dell image after formatting, but then I end up getting the same stop error that started this whole problem.
I think you need to diagnose more. 9 times of doing nothing and then it automatically fixes itself. A stop error after a restore?

To me it sounds like something else is happening.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2009, 05:07 AM
Davis Computer Services's Avatar
Davis Computer Services Davis Computer Services is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ottumwa, Iowa
Posts: 157
Davis Computer Services is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Why would you try the same exact thing a tenth time after it hadn't worked the nine times prior?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2009, 05:12 AM
Methical's Avatar
Methical Methical is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 2,483
Methical will become famous soon enough
Default

Because he is persistent

But I do think somethin' else is happenin' for it not to work 9 times, but work the 10th..
__________________
Would a homeless guy understand a knock-knock joke?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.