Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2007, 05:54 PM
Jake's Avatar
Jake Jake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Jake is on a distinguished road
Default TweakUI Help

All of a sudden i keep getting An error When i Logon:

TweakUI.CPL Error.

I was looking at Tweak yesterday but i am confident i didnt change any settings or anything. TweakUI dosent even Appear in my Control Panel anymore which was why i opened it to see what it was in the first place.

Thanks For any help in advance. :/
__________________
Junior Tech =D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:59 PM
Bryce W's Avatar
Bryce W Bryce W is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,417
Bryce W will become famous soon enough
Default

Have you tried reinstalling TweakUI?
A .CPL file is a icon that shows up in your control panel. Since you said it doesnt even show up in your control panel anymore and you are getting that message, something is up with your TweakUI.CPL file.

If you dont want to keep TweakUI or the reinstall didnt work. Download and run Autoruns . Once loaded, goto the Logon Tab. Under HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run there will be a checkbox saying TweakUI or something similar. Untick it and close the program. That should stop the error.
__________________
For adminly tasks such as username changes, moving threads etc.. please contact Martyn

For advertising rates, Technibble product support (questions, replacements etc..) please email: support [at] technibble.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:29 PM
Jake's Avatar
Jake Jake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Jake is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the help but the night after i posted i was laying in bed thinking about what it could be that bought up the error when i logged in and i wondered if it could have been se to autorun at startup, so i got up booted up the pc and checked in run/msconfig and sure enough under the 'startup' tab i unselected tthe TweakUI file and rebooted. made sure it wasnt going to keep sending me annoying reminders that i changed the Boot Configuration and again rebooted.. Brilliant. No annoying errors. Next time i might think about things for a while O.o...
__________________
Junior Tech =D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.