Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

Technibble Sponsor

Old 01-03-2007, 08:45 AM

sambo is on a distinguished road
Default pc reboots itself

Please somebody help before i go insane i have a pc running xp pro 512mb and have had no problems up until 3 days ago where it will reboot itself no matter what i'm doing, today it is rebooting to the welcome screen turning off a blue screen flickers on for less than a second and then it reboots itself again.

The only things i have done different was to install a router so that my 2 kids could have internet in there rooms could this be the problem and if so how do i rectify it when the pc wont stay on long enough for me to do anything.

Would really appreciate your help on this one as i'm not very technical.
Old 01-03-2007, 02:15 PM

TechPro is on a distinguished road

Hi Sambo.

Does this happen everytime the computer is turned on or only when you do something particular like open an Internet page or click on the start button?

Lets try a few things to see if we can help you out.

1. Start your computer.
2. When you see the "Please select the operating system to start" message, press the F8 key.

3. When the Windows Advanced Options menu appears, use the ARROW keys to select Last Known Good Configuration (your most recent settings that worked), and then press ENTER.

If that doesnt work do the same again and then select Safe Mode instead of Last Known good Configuration.

See if it goes into windows without rebooting.

If you get that far we need to get windows to display that blue screen you mentioned, this will give you an error message and from here we should be able to solve the problem.

By default windows xp restarts itself when it encounters a serious error.

To stop this do the following when windows loads do the following:

Right click My Computer choose Properties, Advanced, Startup and Recovery then untick the "Automatically restart" tick box.