Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:18 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Computer will not print but no error - tried 3 printers

Hey all

Have a Dell Studio laptop in that just won't print to anything. It sends the job to the printer and appears as though it should be printing but just never does. No errors or anything, just doesn't print. Have tried 3 different USB printers now, they all install fine and are being detected fine but wont even print a test page.

Any ideas? Thanks!

oops.. almost forgot.. It's 32-bit Vista

Last edited by TechGuy71; 05-19-2009 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:27 PM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

If you go to the specific printer and double click on it to show the print jobs, what do you see?
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:28 PM
Jory Jory is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 940
Jory is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you check the spool folder to ensure it's empty?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:31 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimeCode View Post
If you go to the specific printer and double click on it to show the print jobs, what do you see?
On one of the printers it would show that the file was printing and stay like that until i canceled the print job... on the printer i am using now it just goes away as if it has printed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:04 PM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy71 View Post
On one of the printers it would show that the file was printing and stay like that until i canceled the print job... on the printer i am using now it just goes away as if it has printed.
Strange. Have you tried turning off print spooling? Or maybe turning it on?
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:12 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

I am starting to wonder if it is a permissions issue. It's the only account, and an administrator account, however it will not let me into the UAC menu or the Parental Controls menu.. again no errors or anything, they just wont open. I click on them and nothing. Dunno if it's related... but it's a problem. lol

...maybe vista is just fubar'd

Last edited by TechGuy71; 05-19-2009 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:17 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimeCode View Post
Strange. Have you tried turning off print spooling? Or maybe turning it on?
Yah the service was running... shut it down and restarted it. nada

why does all this bizzaro crap happen to me? haha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:18 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jory View Post
Did you check the spool folder to ensure it's empty?
yah, and actually tried changing the spooler folder but didn't make a difference
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2009, 07:59 PM
alibabacomputech's Avatar
alibabacomputech alibabacomputech is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
alibabacomputech is an unknown quantity at this point
Default System restore

hi, did this ever print before if so did you try the system restore to see if that helped
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2009, 08:27 PM
TechGuy71 TechGuy71 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
TechGuy71 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alibabacomputech View Post
hi, did this ever print before if so did you try the system restore to see if that helped
Apparently it has never printed... so whatever is wrong with it has been that way for quite a while.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.