Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2009, 04:44 PM
ell ell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,557
ell will become famous soon enough
Question Blue screen crash when uploading to Facebook?

Hi everybody. This is weird, I have a customer who just called after about 2 weeks. I upgraded his ram and removed some nasty viruses, upgraded to sp3 and now he gets a blue screen crash (hes say its says something about memory) but only when hes uploading pics to facebook!? is this a virus i may have missed, bad memory or a facebook uploader issue????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2009, 04:46 PM
angry_geek's Avatar
angry_geek angry_geek is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: herrin, il
Posts: 2,798
angry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to angry_geek
Default

Facebook uploader is a java system. Try reinstalling java.
__________________
Loring Preston
The Computer Doctor
Email Me

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2009, 05:49 PM
ell ell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,557
ell will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angry_geek View Post
Facebook uploader is a java system. Try reinstalling java.
I don't think its just a IE crash, I think the whole system reboots, that wouldn't still be java would it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2009, 05:59 PM
angry_geek's Avatar
angry_geek angry_geek is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: herrin, il
Posts: 2,798
angry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to angry_geek
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ell View Post
I don't think its just a IE crash, I think the whole system reboots, that wouldn't still be java would it?
It's quite possible. Java uses a lot of ram and cpu cache to run. If it's been corrupted, it can cause all kinds of problems. Also, if the client is using ie, they could have some crazy active x add on causing issues. Have you tried resetting IE?
__________________
Loring Preston
The Computer Doctor
Email Me

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2009, 06:04 PM
ell ell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,557
ell will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angry_geek View Post
It's quite possible. Java uses a lot of ram and cpu cache to run. If it's been corrupted, it can cause all kinds of problems. Also, if the client is using ie, they could have some crazy active x add on causing issues. Have you tried resetting IE?
I would do that if I had it, I hope its just java then, I would think if it was the ram I put in it would be happening at other times too. Hes planning on dropping it off Mon. Maybe I can talk him through the IE reset, I already left him a message to try and uninstall and reinstall Java, don't know if he can though. Thanks for your info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2009, 06:16 PM
angry_geek's Avatar
angry_geek angry_geek is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: herrin, il
Posts: 2,798
angry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to angry_geek
Default

No problem. Let us know if that fixes the issue.
__________________
Loring Preston
The Computer Doctor
Email Me

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2009, 07:08 PM
ell ell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,557
ell will become famous soon enough
Default SOLVED! Angry Geek gets a star by his name.

You were right, my customer called back today to drop off the pc, he hadn't listened to my voice message to reinstall java apparently, he was having the same memory blue screen crash now with itunes too. I made an apt for him to drop it off, he just called and canceled, he finally listened to my message and uninstalled java and downloaded the newest version, hes a happy camper now! thanks angry geek!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:19 PM
angry_geek's Avatar
angry_geek angry_geek is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: herrin, il
Posts: 2,798
angry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the roughangry_geek is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to angry_geek
Default

Cool! I'm glad it worked, but I'm sorry you missed out on the service $$.
__________________
Loring Preston
The Computer Doctor
Email Me

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:28 PM
ell ell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,557
ell will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angry_geek View Post
Cool! I'm glad it worked, but I'm sorry you missed out on the service $$.
I'm really struggling with new competition in town, ($50 flat rate for ALL repairs!) my calls have died. I told him I would look at it for free and I probably would have fixed the java for nothing in hopes of him giving me good word-of-mouth. I don't know how they can pay wages and rent on a building. We have 2 geek squads and others in town. thanks, but yes I could use a job!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:44 PM
ejsaunders ejsaunders is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
ejsaunders is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Its FB, its been happening to a LOT of users since they updated the site, seems to be slightly browser dependant, some of my friends have asked about it and they use IE7, some have IE6 and Sun Java, not many who've got IE7 and Suns latest, but that might be coincidental.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.