Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2009, 12:10 AM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Cannot get XP Activation or msconfig to appear

I copied my XP CD with ImgBurn and I formatted a client's PC. It had issues finding "tourW.exe" so I skipped it. Well, Windows activation appears in the system tray saying I have 30 days to activate and to click on the balloon, but when I do it disappears and nothing shows up. I tried running "oobe/msoobe /a" in the Run dialog but it says it doesn't exist. Well I used my actual genuine OEM CD from Microsoft to repair the installation and I get the same problem and now "msconfig" gives me the same error saying that it cannot find it. CMD and RegEdit and what-not work but this is really frustrating. Should I just re-format the PC with the genuine CD or what? I tried installing Service Pack 2 but it didn't solve anything.

Thanks in advance

PS: This is a custom built machine by the looks of it and this is Windows XP Professional.
__________________


TehachapiComputers.com
Facebook.com/TehachapiComputers

"Convenient, Quick, Knowledgeable Computer Repair that Guarantees to Beat the Competition!"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:25 AM
Crgky127 Crgky127 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 598
Crgky127 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Just reinstall. Did you use ImgBurn at max speed?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:29 AM
frostbyte5014's Avatar
frostbyte5014 frostbyte5014 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenwood, SC USA
Posts: 719
frostbyte5014 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to frostbyte5014 Send a message via Yahoo to frostbyte5014
Default

Just a hunch but try a good hardware scan first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:50 AM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crgky127 View Post
Just reinstall. Did you use ImgBurn at max speed?
Yes. How did you know?

I repaired it with a genuine disk. Wouldn't that have fixed the problem if the issues are with damaged or missing Windows files that are required for those services to operate properly?
__________________


TehachapiComputers.com
Facebook.com/TehachapiComputers

"Convenient, Quick, Knowledgeable Computer Repair that Guarantees to Beat the Competition!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2009, 06:50 AM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I just formatted with the genuine XP disk and again I'm having the same exact issues. No activation will show when I click it, and msconfig is still missing. What the heck is the problem here?

One thing to note, when installing Windows I get prompted to put in the Service Pack 2 CD. I never got a SP2 CD when I bought this XP disk off Amazon. I actually have a SP2 CD from Microsoft I got for free (when they were giving out free disks) some years ago and I put that in but nothing, it won't continue. It apparently is looking for an exe, I think "iexplore.exe" which is normally IE so I'm not sure why it would need SP2 to install that. I also noticed that after formatting IE is missing and is never installed. Is there some place that I could get a SP2 CD like that that would include the "iexplore.exe" file so I can correctly install that portion? I'm sure that's probably the issue here.

I've tried all 3 disks and it doesn't find the .exe it's looking for. The 3rd disk gives me some updates but even trying to extract that .exe leaves me with an error when in Windows.
__________________


TehachapiComputers.com
Facebook.com/TehachapiComputers

"Convenient, Quick, Knowledgeable Computer Repair that Guarantees to Beat the Competition!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:10 AM
frostbyte5014's Avatar
frostbyte5014 frostbyte5014 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenwood, SC USA
Posts: 719
frostbyte5014 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to frostbyte5014 Send a message via Yahoo to frostbyte5014
Default

I have had this problem twice before. Once was bad memory and the other was bad hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:18 AM
thor999 thor999 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Prior Lake, Mn
Posts: 371
thor999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Doesn't install IE7? What's wrong with that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2009, 08:20 AM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Haha, yeah.

I figured out the problem. Googled it and found my answer here:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/windo...pack-2-cd.html

Apparently the disk they're asking for is CD 1. They just labeled it in a really bad way to make you think it's a SP2 disk.
__________________


TehachapiComputers.com
Facebook.com/TehachapiComputers

"Convenient, Quick, Knowledgeable Computer Repair that Guarantees to Beat the Competition!"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:47 PM
rbwarp13's Avatar
rbwarp13 rbwarp13 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 20
rbwarp13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to rbwarp13 Send a message via Skype™ to rbwarp13
Exclamation

Windows XP is not the same as Windows Media Center 2005

Did you burn Windows XP Pro or Windows Media Center 2005??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:05 PM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbwarp13 View Post
Windows XP is not the same as Windows Media Center 2005

Did you burn Windows XP Pro or Windows Media Center 2005??
I realize that. It's weird because it says "Windows XP Professional" but sometimes it'll say "Media Center 2005" but the look and feel of it is Media Center. Doesn't matter as all is well now and that's all I care about.
__________________


TehachapiComputers.com
Facebook.com/TehachapiComputers

"Convenient, Quick, Knowledgeable Computer Repair that Guarantees to Beat the Competition!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.