Go Back   Technibble Forums > The Computer Repair Business > Business and Legal Issues

Technibble Sponsor

Old 03-30-2009, 04:44 PM

TheCyberSamurai is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Name Legal Question

Hello All,

I've been running an IT company for the past 2 years. Due to state laws I had to change my business name because we were advertising as a data forensic company. The state passed a law where we had to be a licensed PI firm to be called a data forensics business. So we decided to change the name. It took us a long time to create the new name and establish a brand. We settled on "The Cyber Samurais". Even though the plural of Samurai is just Samurai, we tagged an s on the end. Now there is a software development company called Cyber Samurai. Does anyone out there know of any kind of name legalities out there that would cause a conflict of interest by us being named "The Cyber Samurais"? We do computer repair and they do software development. Any light on the subject would be greatly appriciated. Thank you.
Old 03-30-2009, 07:38 PM

rtrahan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Business Name