Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2009, 02:05 AM
Tiddle's Avatar
Tiddle Tiddle is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Tiddle is on the way
Default Still Green

Can i replace a AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ With a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+?

I dont have to get a new motherboard right?

How does the compatibility work? It has to do with the number of pins or something riight?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:26 AM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiddle View Post
Can i replace a AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ With a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+?

I dont have to get a new motherboard right?

How does the compatibility work? It has to do with the number of pins or something right?
I'll let you figure this one out by asking you 2 questions...
1) What Socket Type are they?
2) Is the Socket Type the same?
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:54 PM
Tiddle's Avatar
Tiddle Tiddle is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Tiddle is on the way
Default

Yes and yes

SO YES

Also found this

for those interested.

http://users.erols.com/chare/sockets.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 04:23 PM
purple_minion purple_minion is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,007
purple_minion is on a distinguished road
Default

You have to be careful with the bios supporting the chip. I bought a MB and a newer chip only to read about how many people couldn't use their chips because the bios that came with MB wasn't the newest one and didn't support the chip. Thankfully I got one new enough to have support, otherwise you need to either find a CPU that is supported or buy an updated bios. Since you will have the old CPU you can always switch back and they aren't new chips... but still something to keep in mind... more of a FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2009, 05:34 PM
starfireone starfireone is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 45
starfireone is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Of course.
__________________
Starfireone -Life is Good
http://www.home-network-setup.com
http://www.coolestcheaplaptops.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:09 PM
Methical's Avatar
Methical Methical is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 2,483
Methical will become famous soon enough
Default

Awesome link Tiddle! Always handy to have..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.